The Art of Posing

Let me say first that I’m no expert in the art of posing but having completed five (5) modeling schools in SL, I’m just passing on a few things I was taught about posing and poses.

One of the first things most teachers will tell you in Runway Modeling 101 is never to use poses that show armpits.  With that being said, the second thing they’ll tell you is to always make sure your fingers, fingertips, hair never touch any of the prims you’re wearing.    These are just a few of the things taught in Basic Runway Modeling and I haven’t outlined ALL of the things you should look for because this article is really about the poses themselves.

There is also another part of posing that seems to be forgotten.  I hadn’t even given it much thought until one of my teachers at Prestige Modeling Academy, Calista Ella (MISS V♛ Argentina), had mentioned it to me.  During an evaluation at class one day she told me I played it too safe with my poses.  Playing it safe meant I was certainly making sure that my fingers didn’t stick into my clothing but I had no pizzazz. With all that I had to remember about poses, now I had to remember pizzazz too?  You betcha! So, from that point on I decided to also concentrate on telling a story with my poses or at least try to.  Also, from that point on, Calista became not only a former teacher of mine but a good friend as well, but that’s another story for another time.

When I wear a design, I want to tell a story or at least make the poses fit the design I’m wearing.  The best way to illustrate this is to actually give you a few examples.  Below are a few pics of me modeling an outfit from Naive, showing right and wrong poses for the outfit I’m wearing.

Wrong Pose = Gown Pose

Right Pose = Attitude

Both poses are correct in that none of my extremities is sticking into any other part of my body or clothing.  Yet, the first pose is a “safe” pose in that it doesn’t convey the hip-hop urban chick that I wanted to portray on the runway. 

I go to many fashion shows when time allows and I see this predicament often.  Just because a pose fits doesn’t mean its suited for the design.  Being a model in SL isn’t as easy as our RL counterparts in that we have to search for, or create our own, poses to convey an attitude.  But if you accomplish this goal it will show on the runway and it’s so much better than playing it safe!

About Linda Reddevil

I'm a Second Life® model and stylist who enjoys blogging and photography in the virtual game.
This entry was posted in Tips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

