Second Chances – or when you blow the first one

About a week ago I attended a casting for an agency that I really wanted to get in to. (why anyone would go to one they wouldn’t is beyond me but I digress) The short story is, I did not. Get in that is. I almost didn’t go and to be honest I’m not sure why.

These things happen, you enter a contest, you don’t win. You go to a casting, you don’t get in. (Dr. Seuss of fashion?)

 


Rejection sux. Especially when you know you are just as good as many that are there – you just may be having an off day.

I’m not too sure I was having an off day but I was pretty sure (even as soon as I arrived) that I simply did not hit the mark with their styling request. I suppose I could have turned around and bailed but if I had, I would have blown a great opportunity.

Call it Project Runway oh wait that is already taken. Ok Style Study?

I am fortunate to have met models that 1) seem to think I have some potential and 2) take pity on me (lol). It was because of blowing that casting, that I have been given a second chance. A chance to study styling and discover my own style. And I thought I’d share with you, gentle reader, my experience. Maybe it gives you hope if you didn’t get what you wanted. Maybe it just makes you laugh at me. Regardless:

If I get it all down on paper, its no longer
Inside of me, threatening the life it belongs to
And I feel like I’m naked in front of the crowd
Cause these words are my diary, screaming out loud
And I know that you’ll use them, however you want to …

Anna Nalick – Breathe (2 a.m.)

About Terrilynn

Just a small town girl... I do not like to write – I like to have written. Gloria Steinem
This entry was posted in Perspective, student, Styling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Second Chances – or when you blow the first one

  1. I loved this Terri. You wore your heart on a sleeve here and I admire that. Rejection does suck…big time. You expressed your feelings, hesitation and vulnerability about not getting cast, in a few short paragraphs. I think we should touch on the topic more since all of us have “been there”. How do we get over it and how, or why, do we keep plugging away instead of just quitting? ::Hugs::

Leave a Reply

